top of page

The Austere Beauty of Airports

I travel a lot in my job. The destinations may sound exotic for the non-traveller (Manila, Seoul, Brussels, Bangkok, Delhi) but I encounter very little glamour on my trips. My travel plans mean I fly the lowest cost carrier, have long hours between flights in airports and rarely see more than the hotel (also on the cheap side of the ledger) and a brightly lit meeting room where lunches are chicken wraps and over/under ripe slices of pineapple and watermelon.

As a photographer I have been conscious that there is a story to tell in all this travel but i've struggled to make the images work. Other travellers, my initial subject matter, were impossible : everyone's head is face down staring into their devices, or they are fast asleep. I tried taking pictures of the strange LED lit cabins on long haul flights but mainly succeeded in capturing lots of dark space.

To read the rest of the post and see the images click here.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page